Cyprus Mail
Brazil 2014 World Cup

Hosts Brazil entertain Croatia in World Cup opener

Fuleco the mascot for Brazil 2014 accompanied by Brazilian soccer player Marta (L) and former Brazilian star Bebeto (R) during the final draw of the preliminary round groups of the 2014 FIFA World Cup Brazil

Host nation Brazil will kick off next year’s soccer World Cup against Croatia in Sao Paulo on June 12, while holders Spain and 2010 runners-up Netherlands will meet again in the group stages following the draw on Friday.

Brazil were grouped with Croatia, Mexico and Cameroon while Spain and the Dutch have a tough Group B which also contains Chile and Australia.

The complicated draw procedure also put England, Italy, Uruguay and Costa Rica together in Group D, but most of the big soccer nations will be happy with the outcome.

Bosnia, the only one of the 32 teams taking part in their first World Cup finals, face Argentina, Iran and Nigeria.

The final is in Rio de Janeiro on July 13.

Group A
1. Brazil
2. Croatia
3. Mexico
4. Cameroon

Group B
1. Spain
2. Netherlands
3. Chile
4. Australia

Group C
1. Colombia
2. Greece
3. Ivory Coast
4. Japan

Group D
1. Uruguay
2. Costa Rica
3. England
4. Italy

Group E
1. Switzerland
2. Ecuador
3. France
4. Honduras

Group F
1. Argentina
2. Bosnia
3. Iran
4. Nigeria

Group G
1. Germany
2. Portugal
3. Ghana
4. United States

Group H
1. Belgium
2. Algeria
3. Russia
4. South Korea

Click on complete fixture list below to enlarge:


Related posts

Germany triumphant, Brazil eclipsed in dramatic year

Leo Leonidou

Unexpected heroes: top 5 surprise World Cup sensations

Leo Leonidou

Five stars who really disappointed at the World Cup

Leo Leonidou

Ecstatic Berlin crowds welcome victorious German team home

Leo Leonidou

Brazil 2014 strong contender as best-ever World Cup

Leo Leonidou

Argentine youths riot as World Cup loss mourned

Leo Leonidou

1 comment

Comments are closed.