Cyprus Mail
Entertainment What's On

A whole era of music

By Maria Gregoriou

The musicians from the Cyprus Symphony Orchestra (CSO) will perform a chamber music concert on Saturday in Nicosia and Sunday in Paphos.

The exceptional brass ensemble made up of CSO musicians Gareth Griffiths and Andreas Giannakouras (trumpets) and Kelly Alijani and Catherine Heaver (French horns), will take us on an exciting musical journey under the title From Renaissance to 20th Century with works from the renaissance and baroque periods as well as contemporary works.

Renaissance music lovers will enjoy four polyphonic works and a dance: two Canzone in majestic Venetian polychoral style by the Italian composer Giovanni Gabrielli, a Ricercare by Andrea Gabrielli, an arrangement by Alkis Baltas of the highly expressive French chanson Mille Regretz by the Franco-flemish composer Josquin des Prez, as well as the jubilant dance La Mourisque by the Flemish composer Tielman Susato.

The brass quartet will interpret an arrangement of a Prelude and Fugue by JS Bach from his keyboard sonata in D Major, before moving on to two contemporary works: the entertaining Divertimento by British composer John Addison, famous for his film music, and a suite of much-loved tunes from the musical West Side Story by Leonard Bernstein.

Chamber Music Concert – From Renaissance to 20th Century
Concert with the Cyprus Symphony Orchestra. December 12. Pallas Theatre, Nicosia. 5pm. €5/3. Tel: 22-463144
December 13. Hall of Tala new Church of Saviour’s Birth, Paphos

Related posts

Yoga and wellness retreat coming up in September

Eleni Philippou

Experience the deep water solo

Eleni Philippou

Film screenings continue at Pierides Museum

Eleni Philippou

Amazon’s pricey ‘Lord of the Rings’ TV series to launch Sept 2022

Reuters News Service

Using tree-rings to date and write history

Eleni Philippou

It is time for toxic fan boys to go

CM Guest Columnist

1 comment

Comments are closed.