Cyprus Mail

Shipowners elect Andreas Hadjiyiannis as new chairman

Cyprus’s shipowners elected Andreas Hadjiyiannis, owner of Cyprus Sea Lanes, as the new chairman of their business group succeeding George Mouskas who already completed two terms, the Cyprus Union of Shiopowners said.

Polys V. Hajioannou, Anastassis David and Christos Chrysanthou were elected vice presidents of the business group at its general assembly held in Athens on Friday, January 29, the union said in an emailed statement on Tuesday. Mouskas, owner of Olympia Ocean Carriers, was elected advisor of the business group, while Ninos Yamakis was elected treasurer.

The board of directors also includes Elias Angelakos, Zacharias Zachariou, Mark Clerides, John Coustas, Antonis Mikellides, Nicole Mylonas, George Tsavliris, Nicolas Hadjiyiannis and Nikos V. Hajioannou as members.

“The elections were followed by an extensive discussion of matters pertaining to the strengthening of the cooperation between the government and shipowners for further improvement of the Cyprus flag and for enhancing the Cyprus shipping role in our national economy,” the union said in its statement. Polys L. Haji-Ioannou was reappointed as honorary president.

Related posts

Chevron bets on Middle East gas riches and reconciliation

Reuters News Service

Mexican government wants ‘kill switch’ for internet

Reuters News Service

France urges end of boycott in Middle East

Reuters News Service

DP World sees steady performance in Q3

Reuters News Service

‘Biggest IPO in human history:’ Ant shares to raise $35 billion

Reuters News Service

FinMin to present state budget to MPs on Monday