Cyprus Mail
Formula 1 Recommended Sport

Dominant Rosberg romps home in China for third win

Mercedes Formula One driver Nico Rosberg

Nico Rosberg claimed a dominant win in an action-packed Formula One Chinese Grand Prix on Sunday to extend his championship lead over Mercedes team mate Lewis Hamilton, who battled up to seventh with some feisty driving after starting last.

Rosberg crossed the line a mammoth 37.7 seconds ahead of German compatriot Sebastian Vettel, who recovered after colliding with his Ferrari team mate Kimi Raikkonen at the first corner, to claim his third win from three races this season.

Daniil Kvyat finished third to score Red Bull their first podium finish since September’s Singapore Grand Prix but the Russian had to defend himself after the race when an angry Vettel blamed him for the collision between the Ferraris.

Sunday’s win was the 17th of Rosberg’s career and extends his streak of race victories to six, dating back to last November’s Mexican Grand Prix.

The German now leads Hamilton at the top of the standings by 36 points with 18 rounds of a record 21-race season to run.

Hamilton, who had started from dead last after failing to set a time in Saturday’s qualifying session due to an engine problem, finished seventh, running into further trouble at the start when he lost his front wing in a first-corner collision.

The Briton used some good-old fashioned racing nous and clever strategy from Mercedes to work his way up to third, but his challenge faded in the later stages of the race.

Red Bull’s Daniel Ricciardo finished fourth. The Australian rocketed off the line from second on the grid and shot past Rosberg into an early lead, but was pushed onto the back foot after being forced into an early stop by a tyre failure.

Raikkonen, who came off worse in the first-corner collision with team mate Vettel, was sixth ahead of Felipe Massa of Williams.

Max Verstappen was eighth ahead of Toro Rosso team mate Carlos Sainz, while Valtteri Bottas rounded out the top ten for Williams.

The race was interrupted by an early safety car after a series of incidents at the very first corner left debris across the track.

The safety car led to a chopping and changing of the order with some drivers choosing to pit even as others stayed out, putting a mix of tyre strategies into play.

Result from the Formula One Chinese Grand Prix at Shanghai International Circuit
1. Nico Rosberg (Germany) Mercedes 1:38:53.891
2. Sebastian Vettel (Germany) Ferrari +00:37.776
3. Daniil Kvyat (Russia) Red Bull – TAG Heuer 00:45.936
4. Daniel Ricciardo (Australia) Red Bull – TAG Heuer 00:52.688
5. Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Ferrari 01:05.872
6. Felipe Massa (Brazil) Williams-Mercedes 01:15.511
7. Lewis Hamilton (Britain) Mercedes 01:18.230
8. Max Verstappen (Netherlands) Toro Rosso – Ferrari 01:19.268
9. Carlos Sainz Jr (Spain) Toro Rosso – Ferrari 01:24.127
10. Valtteri Bottas (Finland) Williams-Mercedes 01:26.192
11. Sergio Perez (Mexico) Force India – Mercedes 01:34.283
12. Fernando Alonso (Spain) McLaren 01:37.253
13. Jenson Button (Britain) McLaren 01:41.990
14. Esteban Gutierrez (Mexico) Haas – Ferrari 1 lap
15. Nico Huelkenberg (Germany) Force India – Mercedes 1 lap
16. Marcus Ericsson (Sweden) Sauber – Ferrari 1 lap
17. Kevin Magnussen (Denmark) Renault 1 lap
18. Pascal Wehrlein (Germany) Manor – Mercedes 1 lap
19. Romain Grosjean (France) Haas – Ferrari 1 lap
20. Felipe Nasr (Brazil) Sauber – Ferrari 1 lap
21. Rio Haryanto (Indonesia) Manor – Mercedes 1 lap
22. Jolyon Palmer (Britain) Renault 1 lap
(rank: r = retired, nc = not classified)

Driver and Constructor Standings after the Formula One Chinese Grand Prix at Shanghai International Circuit
Drivers Points
1. Nico Rosberg (Germany) Mercedes 75
2. Lewis Hamilton (Britain) Mercedes 39
3. Daniel Ricciardo (Australia) Red Bull 36
4. Sebastian Vettel (Germany) Ferrari 33
5. Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Ferrari 28
6. Felipe Massa (Brazil) Williams 22
7. Daniil Kvyat (Russia) Red Bull 21
8. Romain Grosjean (France) Haas 18
9. Max Verstappen (Netherlands) Toro Rosso 13
10. Valtteri Bottas (Finland) Williams 7
11. Nico Huelkenberg (Germany) Force India 6
12. Carlos Sainz Jr (Spain) Toro Rosso 4
13. Stoffel Vandoorne (Belgium) McLaren 1
14. Kevin Magnussen (Denmark) Renault 0
15. Sergio Perez (Mexico) Force India 0
16. Jolyon Palmer (Britain) Renault 0
17. Marcus Ericsson (Sweden) Sauber 0
18. Fernando Alonso (Spain) McLaren 0
19. Jenson Button (Britain) McLaren 0
20. Pascal Wehrlein (Germany) Manor 0
21. Felipe Nasr (Brazil) Sauber 0
22. Esteban Gutierrez (Mexico) Haas 0
23. Rio Haryanto (Indonesia) Manor 0

Constructors Points
1. Mercedes 114
2. Ferrari 61
3. Red Bull – TAG Heuer 57
4. Williams-Mercedes 29
5. Haas – Ferrari 18
6. Toro Rosso – Ferrari 17
7. Force India – Mercedes 6
8. McLaren 1
9. Renault 0
10. Sauber – Ferrari 0
11. Manor – Mercedes 0

Related posts

Klopp sings Firmino’s praises as Liverpool prepare for Atalanta

Reuters News Service

Man City will not rush Aguero back, says Guardiola

Press Association

Fernandes double helps United beat Istanbul Basaksehir

Reuters News Service

Giroud winner puts Chelsea in Champions League knockout stages

Reuters News Service

Coach of Greek footbal team tests positive for Covid-19

Reuters News Service

Aston Villa fans top list of hate crime reports last season

Press Association