Cyprus Mail

Next-in-line to Theocharous declared for MP seat

Chief Returning Officer Constantinos Nicolaides on Tuesday declared Solidarity’s Giorgos Papadopoulos an MP for the Limassol district, replacing party leader Eleni Theocharous, who was initially elected to parliament but decided to retain her seat in the European Parliament.

During the declaration ceremony, Nicolaides explained that, in a letter dated May 27, four days after the election, Theocharous announced her intention to retain her MEP spot, thus vacating the seat she was elected to.

He added that, because Theocharous was elected in the Limassol district on the ticket of the Solidarity Movement, the vacated seat is filled as per Article 2 of the Election to Parliament law, which stipulates that the Chief Returning Officer declares the party’s next-in-line.

And because Papadopoulos continues to belong to the Solidarity Movement, and is the party’s next in line in the Limassol district, he becomes eligible for the vacated seat.

Papadopoulos’ name, Nicolaides said, will be published in the official gazette.

The newly-declared MP said he was deeply moved, and thanked everyone who voted for the Solidarity movement.

“I pledge to fight for a parliament that supports the disenfranchised, the poor people, growth projects, and, first and foremost, justice,” he added.

Related posts

Sonatas for cello and piano

Eleni Philippou

Coronavirus: Two deaths, 140 people test positive on Saturday (Updated)

Staff Reporter

Gesy budget well within estimates, HIO says

Gina Agapiou

Paphos police investigating suspected assault over parking spot

Gina Agapiou

Man found dead in sea off Latchi

Gina Agapiou

UN confirms informal Guterres meeting with the two leaders (Updated)

Source: Cyprus News Agency


Comments are closed.