Cyprus Mail
Formula 1MotoringSport

Hamilton wins in Canada for fifth time

Mercedes driver Lewis Hamilton

Lewis Hamilton survived another first corner clash with Mercedes team mate Nico Rosberg on Sunday to take a fifth Canadian Grand Prix victory and cut the German’s championship lead to nine points.

The duo banged wheels after being overtaken at the start by Ferrari’s Sebastian Vettel but triple world champion Hamilton, who had been on pole position, recovered to record a second successive win.

Hamilton took the chequered flag five seconds ahead of Vettel while Rosberg finished fifth, behind Red Bull’s Dutch teenager Max Verstappen in fourth, after a frustrating afternoon.

Finland’s Valtteri Bottas finished third for Williams but was 46.4 seconds behind Hamilton in a race that turned into a strategy duel between Ferrari and Mercedes on a cold Canadian afternoon.

Ferrari’s gamble on pitting Vettel twice did not pay off, with the four times world champion still looking for his first win of the campaign.

With the victory coming two days after Muhammad Ali’s funeral, Hamilton quoted the late boxing great — ‘float like a butterfly, sting like a bee’ — over the radio as he crossed the finish line.

“That was for Ali,” he said.

The opening clash between the two Mercedes drivers was their second in three races, this time with Rosberg pushed wide and dropping to ninth place at the end of the first lap.

The German also suffered a slow right rear puncture and had to make a second pitstop on lap 52 while in fourth place. He then spun while trying to pass Verstappen in the closing laps.

Rosberg now has 116 points to Hamilton’s 107 after seven of 21 rounds.

Result from the Formula One Canadian Grand Prix at Circuit Gilles Villeneuve on Sunday
1. Lewis Hamilton (Britain) Mercedes 1:31:05.296
2. Sebastian Vettel (Germany) Ferrari +00:05.011
3. Valtteri Bottas (Finland) Williams-Mercedes 00:46.422
4. Max Verstappen (Netherlands) Red Bull – TAG Heuer 00:53.020
5. Nico Rosberg (Germany) Mercedes 01:02.093
6. Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Ferrari 01:03.017
7. Daniel Ricciardo (Australia) Red Bull – TAG Heuer 01:03.634
8. Nico Huelkenberg (Germany) Force India – Mercedes 1 lap
9. Carlos Sainz Jr (Spain) Toro Rosso – Ferrari 1 lap
10. Sergio Perez (Mexico) Force India – Mercedes 1 lap
11. Fernando Alonso (Spain) McLaren 1 lap
12. Daniil Kvyat (Russia) Toro Rosso – Ferrari 1 lap
13. Esteban Gutierrez (Mexico) Haas – Ferrari 2 laps
14. Romain Grosjean (France) Haas – Ferrari 2 laps
15. Marcus Ericsson (Sweden) Sauber – Ferrari 2 laps
16. Kevin Magnussen (Denmark) Renault 2 laps
17. Pascal Wehrlein (Germany) Manor – Mercedes 2 laps
18. Felipe Nasr (Brazil) Sauber – Ferrari 2 laps
19. Rio Haryanto (Indonesia) Manor – Mercedes 2 laps
r. Felipe Massa (Brazil) Williams-Mercedes 34 laps
r. Jolyon Palmer (Britain) Renault 53 laps
r. Jenson Button (Britain) McLaren 60 laps
(rank: r = retired, nc = not classified)
Fastest Lap: Nico Rosberg,1:15.599, lap 60.

Driver and Constructor Standings after the Formula One Canadian Grand Prix

Drivers Points
1. Nico Rosberg (Germany) Mercedes 116
2. Lewis Hamilton (Britain) Mercedes 107
3. Sebastian Vettel (Germany) Ferrari 78
4. Daniel Ricciardo (Australia) Red Bull 72
5. Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Ferrari 69
6. Max Verstappen (Netherlands) Red Bull 50
7. Valtteri Bottas (Finland) Williams 44
8. Felipe Massa (Brazil) Williams 37
9. Sergio Perez (Mexico) Force India 24
10. Daniil Kvyat (Russia) Toro Rosso 22
11. Romain Grosjean (France) Haas 22
12. Fernando Alonso (Spain) McLaren 18
13. Nico Huelkenberg (Germany) Force India 18
14. Carlos Sainz Jr (Spain) Toro Rosso 18
15. Kevin Magnussen (Denmark) Renault 6
16. Jenson Button (Britain) McLaren 5
17. Stoffel Vandoorne (Belgium) McLaren 1
18. Esteban Gutierrez (Mexico) Haas 0
19. Jolyon Palmer (Britain) Renault 0
20. Marcus Ericsson (Sweden) Sauber 0
21. Pascal Wehrlein (Germany) Manor 0
22. Felipe Nasr (Brazil) Sauber 0
23. Rio Haryanto (Indonesia) Manor 0
Constructors Points
1. Mercedes 223
2. Ferrari 147
3. Red Bull – TAG Heuer 130
4. Williams-Mercedes 81
5. Force India – Mercedes 42
6. Toro Rosso – Ferrari 32
7. McLaren 24
8. Haas – Ferrari 22
9. Renault 6
10. Sauber – Ferrari 0
11. Manor – Mercedes 0

Related Posts

Dutch coach Van Gaal insists side will beat Belgium

Reuters News Service

Injured Raducanu retires in Korea

Reuters News Service

Nadal pulls out of Laver Cup after doubles with Federer

Reuters News Service

Maguire calls on fans to back England in build-up to World Cup

Reuters News Service

Van Dijk admits to poor form at start of season

Reuters News Service

England braced for Italy test in Nations League clash

Reuters News Service