Cyprus Mail
US Open

Williams sisters on collision course (order of play)

Victory for both Serena and Venus on Monday would put them one win away from a semi-final meeting at Flushing Meadows

Serena and Venus Williams, the sisters with 29 grand slams and a stack of records between them, will try to maintain a collision course at the US Open on Monday when they play their fourth-round matches.

World number one and defending champion Serena, trying to break the record of 22 grand slam titles she shares with Steffi Graf, plays number 52 Yaroslava Shvedova of Kazakhstan.

Sixth seed Venus, twice the champion in New York, faces Karolina Pliskova, the big-serving 10th seed from the Czech Republic.

Victory for both would put them one win away from a semi-final meeting at Flushing Meadows.

Top seed Serena is still managing the right shoulder injury she suffered at the Rio Olympic Games last month but says she is ready to hit peak form.

“I feel OK,” she said when asked to grade her performance in week one. “So far, so good.

“I don’t feel like I’m Serena out there yet, but hopefully she’ll come around the second week.”

Venus is into the fourth round for the second straight season, having gone four years without passing round three while she learned to cope with Sjogren’s syndrome, an auto-immune disease that causes chronic fatigue and muscle soreness.

“It’s just a lot of willpower,” Venus said. “That’s really what it is. I started to feel better more consistently this year so I’m always trying to find things to help me feel my best.

“But even if I’m not feeling great, I still manage to get a good fight in out there.”

Men’s second seed Andy Murray, the Wimbledon and Olympic champion, takes on Grigor Dimitrov for a place in the quarter-finals.

Former champion Juan Martin del Potro, in the fourth round for the first time since 2012 after three operations on his left wrist, plays eighth seed Dominic Thiem.

Third seed Stan Wawrinka, sixth seed Kei Nishikori and women’s fourth seed Agnieszka Radwanska are also in fourth-round action.

Order of play on the main showcourts at the US Open on Monday (prefix numbers denote seeding):

Arthur Ashe Stadium (1500 GMT/11 AM ET) 8-Dominic Thiem (Austria) v Juan Martin del Potro (Argentina)

(1630 GMT/12:30 PM ET) 10-Karolina Pliskova (Czech Republic) v 6-Venus Williams (US) 1-Serena Williams (US) v Yaroslava Shvedova (Kazakhstan)

(2300 GMT/7 PM ET) 22-Grigor Dimitrov (Bulgaria) v 2-Andy Murray (Britain) 4-Agnieszka Radwanska (Poland) v Ana Konjuh (Croatia)

Louis Armstrong Stadium (1500 GMT/11 AM ET) 11-Carla Suarez Navarro (Spain) v 5-Simona Halep (Romania) Illya Marchenko (Ukraine) v 3-Stan Wawrinka (Switzerland)

(1900 GMT/3 PM ET) 6-Kei Nishikori (Japan) v 21-Ivo Karlovic (Croatia)



Related posts

Salah double keeps Liverpool on track for points record

Reuters News Service

Five-star City hammer Newcastle, West Ham and Wolves beaten

British weather spoils long-awaited cricket return

Reuters News Service

World champion snowboarder Pullin drowns while spearfishing

Reuters News Service

Ryder Cup postponed due to coronavirus

Tottenham’s Dier gets four-game ban for confronting fan

Press Association