Cyprus Mail

Unopposed mayors in Dherynia and Livadhia

Vote counters during municipal elections

OF the 112 candidates vying for one of the 39 mayoral seats on December 19, two were elected unopposed on Friday.

Andros Karayiannis was declared mayor of Dherynia in Famagusta district, while Marios Armenis assumed duties as the mayor of Livadhia, in the Larnaca district, for a second term.

Both men had run unopposed, and were declared as mayors after the 24-hour deadline for the submission of appeals as regards candidacies expired.

Candidates for the municipal elections submitted their official expression of interest on Thursday. According to the election service, candidacies were submitted for a total of 39 municipalities, of which nine are in the occupied north, as well as for 348 villages in the government controlled areas and 142 refugee communities.

Related Posts

Lack of interest in EastMed pipeline ‘worrying’

Elias Hazou

Petrol stations association in the north threatens to close its pumps

Sarah Ktisti

Meeting Friday to look at ways to reduce electricity bills

Elias Hazou

Survey shows people in the north are not happy

Andrea Charalambous

MPs hope to pass bill to support refugees before recess

Staff Reporter

Firefighting fleet to be reinforced with four new aircraft

Christodoulos Mavroudis

1 comment

Comments are closed.