Cyprus Mail

Auditor’s list reveals who gets what in local government

Limassol mayor Andreas Christou is the highest paid mayor in Cyprus

While Limassol city boss Andreas Christou is the highest-paid mayor in Cyprus, earning €70,635 per annum, the mayor of Peyia is not that far behind at €59,437.

Daily Alithia on Monday published a list of the annual earnings of mayors, deputy mayors and municipal councillors. The data is for 2014, the latest available numbers from the auditor-general.

Limassol’s mayor topped the charts, followed by the mayor of Strovolos at €70,412, the mayor of Nicosia at €65,907 and the mayor of Paphos at €65,129. Larnaca’s mayor was the fifth highest earner, making €62,656.

Salary-wise, the rankings of the top five are commensurate with the size of their respective municipalities.

But things get a little wonky further down the line: the mayor of Peyia – the third smallest municipality in the government-controlled areas – is in sixth place at €59,437.

And the mayor of Polis Chrysochous, the second smallest municipality, made €56,330 in 2014. His earnings equalled those of mayors in far larger municipalities: Mesa Yitonia, Lakatamia, Engomi, Ayios Dometios and Deryneia.

At the bottom of the rung were the mayors of Athienou (€40,746), Lefkara (€40,199) and Ayia Napa (€38,000).

Mayors of occupied municipalities earned considerably less. Top of that list was Famagusta mayor Alexis Galanos at €42,156. The mayor of Kythrea was in last place, earning €18,548.

In 2014, the state spent some €1.87 million on the salaries of the 39 mayors. Thirty of the municipalities are in the government-controlled areas, the other nine in northern Cyprus.

In the same year, the 462 municipal councillors cost the state around €3.2 million.

In his report on 2014, the auditor-general pointed out that the salaries and/or representation allowances of deputy mayors and municipal councillors must not exceed 15 per cent of the earnings of their respective mayors.

However this guideline was violated in 10 cases, in the municipalities of Limassol, Nicosia, Paphos, Larnaca, Mesa Yitonia, Polis Chrysochous, Ayios Athanasios, Ypsonas, Latsia and Geri.

Auditor-general Odysseas Michaelides will be publicising the findings of his audit for 2015 into local government this Friday, ahead of schedule.

The findings form part of the audit service’s annual report, slated to be delivered on December 19, the day after the municipal elections.



Related posts

Risking Turkish response, Cyprus to continue surveys in EEZ

Evie Andreou

Arrest after 28kg of shisha tobacco seized

Evie Andreou

Coronavirus: Mobile vaccination units in the mountains on Saturday

Evie Andreou

Coronavirus: Two deaths, 143 new cases (Updated)

Evie Andreou

Walking tour looks at the future of mining heritage in Cyprus

Eleni Philippou

Coronavirus: Investigation into virus chains in schools

Evie Andreou


Comments are closed.