Cyprus Mail

Welcome to Springtime

Spring is in the air and the Cyprus Symphony Orchestra is paying tribute to the season with a performance at the Rialto theatre on Friday. Three works are part of this event.

In 1944 American composer Aaron Copland set about writing his Appalachian Spring ballet after being commissioned by choreographer and dancer Martha Graham. Awarded with the Pulitzer Prize for Music the following year, the work has since achieved widespread popularity in the form of an orchestral suite.

In 1887 one of French composer Claude Debussy’s assignments as a Prix de Rome scholar at the Villa Medici was to send back to the Fine Arts Academy in France an orchestral score so his benefactors could judge his professional progress. All he managed to turn in however was a piano duet called Printemps. It was as late as 1913 that Debussy got around to presenting an orchestral version.

In 1841, Robert Schumann wrote his First Symphony, also known as Spring Symphony in a burst of creative energy over four days in January.

Welcome to Springtime
Live performance by the Cyprus Symphony Orchestra. May 18. Rialto Theatre, Limassol. 8.30pm. €5/7/12. Tel: 22-463144

Related Posts

European meeting to look at sustainable development

Gina Agapiou

Very few turtle nests at Lady’s Mile amid increasing human activity

CM Guest Columnist

Ready to discuss reduction of pesticide use, says health commissioner

Iole Damaskinos

How many ants are crawling on Earth? Scientists say 20 quadrillion

Reuters News Service

Akamas forest roads to be improved

Staff Reporter

Reducing daily food waste to live a more eco-friendly life