Cyprus Mail

First Cypriot winner of Cyprus Amateur Men’s Open

Champion George Kalpakas Jr (Cyprus), pictured with Maro Kazepi, CTO Representative and Nick Rossides, CGF General Secretary

59 well qualified players teed off last Friday for the first of three rounds in the 18th Cyprus Amateur Men’s Open, organised by the Cyprus Golf Federation(CGF).

The course at Elea Golf Club was in pristine condition, although conditions were unseasonably hot with testing winds, which prevailed over all three days of this World Amateur Golf Ranking event. The quality of the players was very good, with a high proportion of players being of handicap 4 or lower, with several plus handicap golfers, including the defending champion from Malta.

Leading the field each day, and holding onto his lead to the end, was George Kalpakas Jnr who learned his golf at Secret Valley Golf Club and is now studying in the USA.

Despite playing off the black tees, George dropped very few shots over the three days including a highly creditable back nine score of one under on the last day, while under real pressure. George is the first Cypriot national to win this title, and his victory was enthusiastically received by everyone at the presentation after close of play.

The defending Champion, Jj Micallef fought very hard to retain his title, but fell just short at the end, coming in as Runner Up.

Of note in the winner’s categories were four Cyprus based juniors, capturing prizes in the Men’s Categories, which is testimony to the emphasis and investment afforded by CGF on the development of junior golfers in Cyprus.

Unfortunately, the €10,000 travel prize sponsored by CGF for a hole in one was not won, although a few players came very close.

Prizes were presented by Nick Rossides, General Secretary CGF, Andrew McGregor of Elea Golf Club and Maro Kazepi, Golf Coordinator of the principal Sponsor, Cyprus Tourist Organization.

Full details of all prize categories and scores are available at

Next year’s Cyprus Amateur Men’s Open will be hosted by Minthis GC on May 17-19, 2019.

Cyprus Amateur Men’s Open 2018

Champion 2018 KALPAKAS, George Jr (CYP) 220 / 72 – 75 – 73
Runner Up MICALLEF, JJ (MLT) 224 / 73 – 75 – 76
Third Place BORG, Andrew (MLT) 225 / 79 – 72 -74

Division 1 Gross Winner THALER, Yair (ISR) 227
Division 1 Net Winner PITIRIS, Nikolas (CYP) 206
Division 2 Gross Winner MICHAEL, Theodoros (CYP) 240
Division 2 Net Winner BROWN, Samuel (UK) 207

Day 1 Net Winner MICHAELIDES, Savvas (CYP) 68
Day 2 Net Winner WHYTE, Philip (UK) 69
Day 3 Net Winner RÓZSA, David (HUN) 67

Best Junior – Gross STAYKOV, Ryan (BUL) 231
Best Junior – Net COHEN, Itai (ISR) 214