Cyprus Mail
FootballSportWorld Cup

WC Brazil 2014 – An Overview

The World Cup featured one of the greatest upsets in the sport’s history when eventual champions Germany humiliated hosts Brazil 7-1

2010 Brazil - An Overview

The 2014 World Cup was held in Brazil for the second time, with the Samba Boys desperate for glory in the football-mad country.

It was the first time goal-line technology (as well as vanishing foam for free kicks) was used at a World Cup tournament.

The vanishing foam

The first World Cup goal to be awarded with goal-line technology was an own goal by Noel Valladares, Honduras against France.

Group B began like the tournament ended in 2010, with holders Spain taking on the Netherlands.

The Dutch turned on the style to gain revenge for their defeat four years earlier with a 5-1 demolition of La Roja, with Robin van Persie’s flying header becoming one of the defining images of the tournament.

Spain then fell to Chile as they became the first holders to be eliminated within the first week of the tournament.

Group D was dubbed the ‘Group of Death’ as it marked the first time that three former champions (Italy, Uruguay and England) were drawn together in the first round.

The Three Lions were beaten by both the Azzurri and the South Americans, meaning it was the first time they had been knocked out in the group stages since 1958 and the first time they had been eliminated after just two matches.

The clash between Italy and Uruguay produced a scandal that saw Luis Suarez kicked out of the tournament after the Uruguayan bad boy bit Giorgio Chiellini on the shoulder.

The group stage produced attacking football and plenty of goals, a direct contrast to the negativity of South Africa 2010.

The semi-final clash between Brazil and Germany turned into a nightmare for the hosts, who suffered the heaviest defeat in their illustrious history as they were demolished 7-1 in an astonishing match.German striker Miroslav Klose was on target as he became the leading scorer in World Cup history with his record 16th goal.

The second semi-final between Argentina and the Netherlands was a dull game, with Argentina finally reaching the final again after a 24-year absence when they won a penalty shoot-out.

The third-place play-off saw a still traumatised Brazil suffer again, as they went down 3-0 to the Dutch.


Host country: Brazil
Dates: June 12 – July 13
Teams: 32 (from 5 confederations)
Venues: 12
Champions: Germany
Runners-up: Argentina
Third place: Netherlands
Fourth place: Brazil
Matches played: 64
Goals scored: 171 (2.67/game)
Attendance: 3,429,873 (53,592/game)
Top scorers J. Rodriguez COL (6)
[mp_ads_system ads_system_select=”48205″]

THE FINAL: Germany 1 Argentina 0 (aet)

The 2014 final took place at Rio de Janeiro’s iconic Maracana Stadium, with Germany and Argentina meeting for a record third time in the showpiece, with one win each.

It was the third final between the two countries, a World Cup record, after their 1986 and 1990 matches.

Argentina missed a couple of great chances, but there was to be no breakthrough as the game went to extra-time.

Mario Gotze became the hero for Germany in the 113th minute when he controlled Andre Schurrle’s cross from the left on his chest before volleying a high left-footed shot into the net for the winner.

Gotze became the first substitute to score a World Cup-winning goal, as well as the youngest player to score in a World Cup Final since German Wolfgang Weber in 1966 (same age, 22)

The result marked Germany’s fourth title and their first as a unified nation. The victory meant that three consecutive World Cups had been won by teams from the same continent following Italy and Spain in 2006 and 2010 respectively, the first time this had ever happened.

It was also the first time that three consecutive World Cup finals went to extra-time.

Another first was that a World Cup in the Americas was not won by a team from that continent.

Germany showed that they were the best team but Lionel Messi was controversially voted player of the tournament, but neither he nor the crowd looked very impressed by the selection.


Group stage Portugal 4-0
Ghana 2-2
USA 1-0
Round of 16 Algeria 2-1 (aet)
Quarterfinal France 1-0
 Semifinal Brazil 7-1
Group stage Bos+Herz 2-1
Iran 1-0
Nigeria 3-2
Round of 16 Switzerland 1-0
 Quarterfinals Belgium 1-0
 Semifinal Netherland 0-0 (4-2 pen)

Related Posts

Cup joy for Son as Spurs reach fifth round

Reuters News Service

Shiffrin moves to one win away from Stenmark’s record

Reuters News Service

Sabalenka beats Rybakina to win Australian Open

Reuters News Service

Kane a doubt for Tottenham in FA Cup

Reuters News Service

Djokovic shrugs off dad drama to reach Australian Open final

Reuters News Service

Cyprus star Baghdatis was a role mode, says Tsitsipas

Jonathan Shkurko