8.8 C
May 21, 2019
Cyprus Mail
Cricket FRONT PAGE Sponsored Post Sport

Who will win the Cricket World Cup?

India's Cheteshwar Pujara (R) plays a shot as Australia's Travis Head (L) and captain Tim Paine field on day two of the third test match between Australia and India at the MCG in Melbourne, Australia, December 27, 2018. AAP/Julian Smith via REUTERS ATTENTION EDITORS - THIS IMAGE WAS PROVIDED BY A THIRD PARTY. NO RESALES. NO ARCHIVE. AUSTRALIA OUT. NEW ZEALAND OUT.

The ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 will be hosted by England and Wales from May 30, 2019, to July 14, 2019. This global cricket event will feature the leading ten cricketing countries clashing for victory. The participants are England, India, Australia, Bangladesh, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Afghanistan, and the West Indies. The tournament will be played in the round-robin format confirming an encounter among all the nations once before the semi-finals and final. Read on to get an insight into Predictions for Cricket World Cup 2019, currently the most sought-after topic among cricket enthusiasts across the globe.

The stronger teams will try to retain their dominance and the weaker ones will try to prove their worth. England has a superb strike rate of 98.57 and has transformed remarkably after the last World Cup. South Africa’s batting average is similar to that of England. South Africa has performed well in the last two years, but the absence of AB De Villiers may hurt them. Australia appears to be striving for big scores because of the bans on Steven Smith and David Warner. India, after Afghanistan, has the finest bowling average and strike rate. Their spinners along with the pacers are splendid in restricting runs and building pressure. Currently, India holds the highest batting average of 46.88/wicket.

The weaker teams will have little hopes on the English soil. Bangladesh is good but their chance of reaching the semi-finals is low. Afghanistan’s spinners, including Rashid Khan, may create problems for others, but that is not enough for winning the trophy. The West Indians have players who are inexperienced for handling the world cup pressure. Sri Lanka is undergoing poor form and their chance of qualifying is far-fetched. It is probable that low-ranked Afghanistan and West Indies might upset the others.

Pakistan has performed inconsistently after their Champions trophy win in England. They lack consistency, which can hamper their winning chances. New Zealand has a winner’s metric of 0.38, which is very low for victory. They have a decent bowling lineup, but their batting has brought them down with their irregular and unstable performances. Australia’s situation is a tricky one. It is likely that Smith and Warner will return to strengthen and rescue the team, and considering the strength of their quality pace attack, they hold a chance to win the title back.

The top contenders of the 2019 World Cup are India, England, and South Africa. Both England and South Africa share a winner’s metric of 0.53. Both teams possess a deep and stable batting attack, but they will need to improve their bowling. Moreover, their ability to score against spin is doubtful.

Restricting runs and taking early wickets will be vital for winning the tournament. India’s top-order has been ruthless and their bowlers reliable. India can score big and restrict their opponents effectually. Their winner’s metric tops with 0.81 and is 0.28 higher than England and South Africa. It is no wonder that cricket experts are putting their bets on the Indian squad in the 2019 Cricket World Cup.

Related posts

Austrian motor racing great Niki Lauda, who survived fiery crash, dies

Missouri governor expected to sign new abortion restrictions

Holder Halep shrugs off expectations ahead of French Open

Potter set to be named Brighton manager

Kroos extends Real Madrid deal until 2023

Reuters News Service

Regina Palace display window comes to life

Eleni Philippou