Cyprus Mail

Turnout in mayoral elections for Famagusta at 15.9 per cent by noon(Updated)

Polling stations in Cyprus opened at 7am local time (4am GMT) for 31,589 people from Famagusta who elect today their mayor, after the sudden death of Alexis Galanos last month.

Returning officer Georgios Chrysafinis told CNA that polls opened as planned, at 7am, in all 44 polling stations. There will be a one-hour lunch break, from 12pm to 1pm and polls will close at 6pm, he added.

By 12pm, voter turnout was at 15.9 per cent, Chrysafinis said.

From a total of 44 polling stations, four opened in the free areas of Famagusta District, seven in Nicosia, 13 in Larnaca, 19 in Limassol and one in Paphos. This time there will be 10 polling stations less compared to municipal elections held in 2016.

The majority of registered voters, 12,500 people, reside in Limassol District, around 10,000 in Larnaca District, 4,500 in Nicosia District, 3,500 in the free areas of Famagusta District and 1,200 voters reside in Paphos District.

Election results are expected to be announced around 8pm on Sunday. The new Famagusta mayor will be proclaimed on Monday.

The five candidates running in the Famagusta mayoral elections are Linos Papayiannis, supported by ELAM and four independent candidates, in alphabetical order, Simos Ioannou, Nikos Karoullas, Andreas Lordos and Georgios Stavri.

Related posts

Car lovers across the divide solve car theft

Gina Agapiou

Nicosia initiative plants 4,652 trees in six months

Staff Reporter

Football player arrested over suspicious results (updated)

Katy Turner

Man arrested for driving almost 12 times over the limit

Katy Turner

CFA, referees looking for safe environment for football games

Katy Turner

Olive branches tossed into the sea to promote peace

Katy Turner