Cyprus Mail

Cyprus exempt from US travel ban

Larnaca airport

Cyprus is exempt from the US travel ban targeted at Schengen Area countries in the EU, after the new restrictions were announced on Thursday morning.

Cyprus is one of just five EU countries for which the travel ban to the US will not apply. The others are Bulgaria, Croatia, Ireland and Romania. The United Kingdom is also exempt.

US President Donald Trump announced the travel ban “from Europe” in a televised address. He said the EU had “failed to take the same precautions” as the US.

A later statement from Homeland Security clarified that only countries in the Schengen Area would be affected.

The move comes amid growing pressure internationally to restrict the spread of the virus.

The World Health Organisation, on Wednesday, said the Covid-19 outbreak was a pandemic.

Meanwhile, all charter flights to the north will banned until April 1, Turkish Cypriot ‘Foreign Minister’ Kudret Ozersay announced on Wednesday evening.


Related posts

Polis campsite looks set to be full for holiday weekend

Bejay Browne

Man jailed for nine years for attempted murder

Peter Michael

Doctors fail to reach pay agreement for Gesy

Peter Michael

Lawmakers set to push for local government reforms to pass

Elias Hazou

Animal Party calls for pets to be allowed on all buses

Gina Agapiou

Government spokesman questions treatment of religious sites in north after mosque attack (updated)

Evie Andreou