Cyprus Mail
Cyprus Featured

Coronavirus: list of recategorised ‘safe’ countries released

The health ministry on Friday announced the revised categories from which Cyprus accepts passengers.

The revised lists will be in effect from Monday, July 6.

Category A that concerns countries deemed low risk includes Austria, Germany, Denmark, Greece, Estonia, Ireland, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta,  Hungary, Poland, Slovakia, Slovenia, Finland, Switzerland, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, Australia, Japan, Canada, New Zealand, and South Korea.

Passengers arriving from category A countries, do not have to present a Covid–19 test.

In category B are countries with potentially low risk but more precarious than category A. It includes Belgium, Bulgaria, France, Spain, Italy, Croatia, Luxembourg, The Netherlands, Romania, Czech Republic, Andorra, Monaco, Vatican City, San Marino, Georgia, Uruguay, and Serbia.

The ministry pointed out that the UK will be included in category B on August 1 given that the gradual improvement of the country’s epidemiological outlook continues.

Passengers from category B countries are required to present a negative Covid-19 test certificate not older than 72 hours from a recognised laboratory.

All passengers, regardless of the category of the country they are arriving from, are required to apply for CyprusFlightPass ( ) within 24 hours of their departure.

To ensure public health and to monitor the epidemiological outlook, random tests will be given to passengers of selected flights.

Related posts

Clocks go back Sunday morning   

Staff Reporter

Astronomy evening postponed due to Covid spike

Staff Reporter

Coronavirus: 41 bookings for violations in past 24 hours

Staff Reporter

Coronavirus: some leeway on mask edict

Nick Theodoulou

Our View: the government learned a valuable lesson about discounting women

CM: Our View

Coronavirus: 160 cases announced on Friday (Updated)

Peter Michael