Cyprus Mail

Coronavirus: country categories revised, some moved from B to C

The health ministry on Tuesday announced the updated lists of countries from which Cyprus accepts visitors with the number of countries deemed most safe compared with others, dropping.

The new list will be in effect from Friday, October 9.

Lithuania has been placed from category A to B. Belgium, Georgia and Slovakia have been demoted from category B to C.

From Friday, category A will include Germany, Latvia, Finland, Australia, New Zealand, South Korea and Thailand.

In category B are Denmark, Greece, Estonia, Ireland, Italy, Lithuania,  Poland, Sweden, UK, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, Vatican City, San Marino, Uruguay, China (including Hong Kong), Japan, Rwanda, Canada and Serbia.

Category C includes Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, France, Croatia, Luxembourg, Romania, Spain, Malta, the Netherlands, Hungary, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Czech Republic, Andorra, Monaco, Switzerland, Algeria, Georgia, Morocco, Montenegro and Tunisia.

Passengers arriving from category A countries are not required to present a negative PCR test upon arrival.

People arriving from category B countries must present a negative PCR test certificate not older than 72 hours upon arrival to Cyprus. Cypriot nationals and their families, permanent residents, and people whose country does not offer PCR tests in the private or public sector, can get tested on arrival in Cyprus.

Category C countries are considered as more high risk compared with the other two categories. No tourists are allowed in from these countries but only Cypriot nationals, permanent residents, and people with special permits. They need to either present a negative PCR test certificate not older than 72 hours upon arrival or can get tested at the airport as soon as they arrive.

They must also self-isolate for 14 days even of their test result is negative and must get tested for the second time 48 hours before the end of their self-isolation.

The cost of all tests is borne by passengers themselves.

All travelers arriving to Cyprus are required to fill out the CyprusFlightPass within 24 hours prior to their departure.


Related Posts

Man United recover to break Omonia hearts in Nicosia

Reuters News Service

Petrides suggests state take financial control of Cyprus Rally

Elias Hazou

Anastasiades chats briefly with Erdogan in Prague

Elias Hazou

Seven bird-trapping arrests in one week inside SBA

Antigoni Pitta

Christodoulides makes new claims that supporters being intimidated   

Elias Hazou

Green light for one-stop-shop in shipping sector

Sarah Ktisti