Cyprus Mail

Coronavirus: Categories revised, no European countries in category A

Not a single European country remains in category A on the health ministry’s updated list of safe countries which was released on Friday.

The revised list, the first in a month, names only six countries that are deemed safe enough to require no negative Covid-19 tests for entry into Cyprus.

The new list will be in effect from Monday, November 9.

Only Japan got upgraded from category B to A. Finland and Germany have been moved from category A to B. Iceland, Ireland, Poland and Liechtenstein and Italy, meanwhile, have been demoted from category B to C.

From Monday, category A will include Australia, Japan, New Zealand, South Korea, Singapore and Thailand.

In category B are Germany, Denmark, Greece, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Sweden, Finland, the United Kingdom, Norway, the Vatican City, San Marino, Uruguay, China (including Hong Kong and Macau), Rwanda and Serbia.

Category C includes Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, France, Ireland, Croatia, Luxembourg, Romania, Spain, Italy, Malta, the Netherlands, Hungary, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Czech Republic, Andorra, Monaco, Switzerland, Iceland, Lichtenstein, Algeria, Morocco and Montenegro.

Passengers arriving from category A countries are not required to present a negative PCR test upon arrival.

People arriving from category B countries must present a negative PCR test certificate not older than 72 hours upon arrival to Cyprus. Cypriot nationals and their families, permanent residents, and people whose country does not offer PCR tests in the private or public sector, can get tested on arrival in Cyprus.

Category C countries are considered as more high risk compared with the other two categories. No tourists are allowed in from these countries except Cypriot nationals, permanent residents, and people with special permits. They need to either present a negative PCR test certificate not older than 72 hours upon arrival or can get tested at the airport as soon as they arrive.

They must also self-isolate for 14 days even if their test result is negative and must get tested for the second time 48 hours before the end of their self-isolation.

The cost of all tests is borne by passengers themselves.

All travellers arriving to Cyprus are required to fill out the CyprusFlightPass within 24 hours prior to their departure.


Related Posts

House President chides state broadcaster for airing World Cup instead of parliament

Andria Kades

Dipa support makes passage of state budget a done deal

Elias Hazou

Turkey increasingil violating airspace

Andria Kades

Looking to the songs and stories of the past

Eleni Philippou

TUS Airways offering more flights from Cyprus

Andria Kades

EAC workers say state policies make no sense  

Elias Hazou