Cyprus Mail
Cricket Sport

Mumbai beat Delhi to claim fifth IPL title

Mumbai Indians 3 1068x601
Mumbai Indians secured a fifth Indian Premier League title with a five-wicket win over Delhi Capitals in the final in Dubai

Defending champions Mumbai Indians claimed their fifth Indian Premier League (IPL) title on Tuesday, thrashing Delhi Capitals by five wickets in the final at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium.

Delhi skipper Shreyas Iyer and Rishabh Pant struck breezy fifties to help them overcome a top-order collapse, triggered by the bowling of Trent Boult (3-30), and post a competitive 156-7 after electing to bat.

Mumbai, who had beaten Delhi three times this season en route to the final, prevailed once again with eight balls to spare, dashing their opponents’ hopes of winning their maiden IPL title.

Rohit Sharma smashed a fluent 68 and Ishan Kishan made 33 not out down the order as Mumbai cruised to victory.

Related Posts

Football friendlies open to match-fixing, study shows

Jonathan Shkurko

Norwich’s Pukki denies 10-man Newcastle first win

Reuters News Service

EU calls on China to show proof of tennis star’s wellbeing

Reuters News Service

Rangnick era begins while Benitez faces big test – Premier League talking points

Press Association

Tiger Woods rules out full-time return to golf after serious car crash

Press Association

‘Absolute disrespect:’ Ronaldo disputes Ballon d’Or ‘lies’

Press Association