Cyprus Mail

EU award for Cyprus’ Technical Committee on Cultural Heritage (video)


Cyprus’ Technical Committee on Cultural Heritage has been awarded an EU cultural heritage award in the category ‘Dedicated Service to Heritage’, the European Commission and Europa Nostra have announced.

The technical committee on cultural heritage is a bicommunal committee dedicated to preserving and restoring historic monuments on both sides of the divide.

The European Heritage Awards / Europa Nostra Awards, the EU prize for cultural heritage funded by the Creative Europe programme for 2021, went to 24 exemplary achievements from 18 European countries, listed below per category in alphabetical order.

Heritage supporters and enthusiasts from across the world are now encouraged to discover the winners and vote online to decide who will win this year’s Public Choice Award.

The winner will be announced during the European Heritage Awards Ceremony, which will take place on September 23, in Venice, the epidemiological situation permitting. The Grand Prix laureates, each of whom will receive a monetary award of €10,000, will also be made public on this occasion.

According to an announcement by the organisers, the award winners, per category and in alphabetical order are:

Category: Conservation Projects

Gare Maritime, Brussels, Belgium; Fredensborg Palace Garden, Denmark; Vardzia Rock-Cut Complex, Georgia; Haus Am Horn, Weimar, Germany; Plaka Bridge, Epirus, Greece; 18 Ormond Quay Upper, Dublin, Ireland;  Wooden Church of Urși Village, Vâlcea County, Romania; Besòs Water Tower, Barcelona, Spain; Mas de Burot, Els Ports Natural Park, Spain

Category: Research Projects

FIBRANET – FIBRes in ANcient European Textiles, Denmark / Greeece;  Control Shift – European Industrial Heritage Reuse in Review, Greeece / The Netherlands; ART-RISK – Artificial Intelligence Applied to Preventive Conservation, Spain.

Category: Dedicated Service to Heritage by Organisations & Individuals

Gjirokastra Foundation, Albania; Technical Committee on Cultural Heritage, Cyprus; Rita Bargna, Italy; GEFAC – Group of Ethnography and Folklore of the Academy of Coimbra, Portugal.

Category: Education, Training and Awareness-raising Projects

Following in the Steps of Bulgarian Folklore, Bulgaria; Heritage Hubs, Finland / Italy/ Serbia / Spain; The Invention of a Guilty Party, Trento, Italy; Holidays! In the East and West – The School Church, Groningen, The Netherlands;  European Solidarity Centre – Permanent Exhibition, Gdańsk, Poland; Morón Artisan Lime, Morón de la Frontera, Spain Archaeology at Home, United Kingdom; Morus Londinium: London’s Heritage through Trees, United Kingdom

The Award winners were selected by independent juries composed of heritage experts from across Europe, upon evaluation of candidatures submitted by organisations and individuals from 30 European countries.

The announcement of the Award winners 2021 was made at a live online event co-hosted by Mariya Gabriel, European Commissioner for Innovation, Research, Culture, Education and Youth, and Hermann Parzinger, Executive President of Europa Nostra.

In a video message to the event, President of the European Parliament David Sassoli paid tribute to the Award winners: “Through your professionalism, your dedication, your artistic sensitivity, you have helped revitalise the Europe of today and to project it into the future”.

European Commissioner Mariya Gabriel described the winners as ambassadors of the beauty of heritage in Europe, whether it be traditions and know-how, breath-taking architecture or the way that heritage can unite communities and generations. “I truly believe that the successful preservation of our tangible and intangible heritage depends on the commitment of the people behind it. With these awards, we therefore honour all those exceptional men and women, heritage professionals, architects, scientists and volunteers who bring our common heritage closer to our hearts. Their vision should be applauded.”

Europa Nostra’s Executive President Hermann Parzinger said the winners exemplify the incomparable creativity and commitment of those who work to protect, valorise and pass on Europe’s precious inheritance to the next generation. “This year’s laureates powerfully demonstrate how heritage offers solutions and paths to recovery in the face of seemingly insurmountable challenges, as we take action for the climate, mobilise for sustainable urban and rural development and tackle the many threats to our core European values.”

The Portuguese Minister of Culture and Acting Chair of the EU Council of Ministers responsible for Culture Graça Fonseca congratulated participants and winners. “My thanks to the European Commission and Europa Nostra for this annual initiative, one that is so important for our shared European project.”

Related Posts

Cyprus’ energy conundrum

Dr Charles Ellinas

Argaka, Gialia and Pomos beaches receive European award (corrected)

Iole Damaskinos

American university students visit Limassol port

Kyriacos Nicolaou

More women have been abused by clerics but don’t report it, says theologian

Gina Agapiou

Police arrest man in Limassol for stealing a car

Nikolaos Prakas

Police bust 16 yr old driving without a licence on Nicosia motorway

Nikolaos Prakas