Cyprus Mail

Five new ambassadors for Cyprus

ΠτΔ – Διαπιστευτήρια νέου Πρέσβη Ισπανίας
Gabriel Ferrán Carrión the Spanish ambassador

President Nicos Anastasiades on Wednesday received the credentials of five new ambassadors to the island, namely Spain, Oman, Sweden, Switzerland and Kuwait, briefing them on the current situation in Cyprus.

All ambassadors were received at the Presidential Palace in Nicosia, where they held individual talks with Anastasiades, discussing diplomatic ties between the island and each of the new ambassadors’ countries.

The new ambassadors are Sweden’s Martin Hagstrom, Switzerland’s Christoph Burgener, Oman’s Mohamed Abdallah Awad Al-Nahdy, Kuwait’s Abdullah Musaed Alkharafi and Spain’s Gabriel Ferrán Carrión.

Anastasiades briefed them on the latest developments of the Cyprus problem, thanking them on behalf of the country for their support.

“I want to express my deep gratitude for the principled support of the new ambassadors’ countries in relation to Turkey’s occupation,” he said.

“We particularly need support at this time, given Turkey’s insistence on a two-state solution, which is in direct contrast to the agreed UN framework based on a bizonal, bicommunal federation.

Anastasiades said he asked the new ambassadors to continue to put pressure on Ankara to avoid the continuation of any illegal actions that might undermine the goal of achieving a viable solution to the Cyprus problem.

“From our side, despite Turkey’s intransigence, we will continue to make every effort in order to create favourable conditions for the resumption of the talks,” he said.

Related Posts

Top presidential candidates share positions on environmental topics

Gina Agapiou

North protest over proposed building permit changes

Nikolaos Prakas

Pre-trial phase of passports case drags on

Elias Hazou

More rain and thunderstorms expected Monday night

Gina Agapiou

Disy and Akel ramp up the election rhetoric

Elias Hazou

Security Council renews Unficyp mandate for a year

Gina Agapiou