Cyprus Mail

Coronavirus: New country categories, Israel in Orange

File photo: Larnaca airport

Three countries – Switzerland, Estonia and Israel – have been downgraded from the Green to Orange category for arrivals to Cyprus while Denmark and Ireland have been transferred from Orange to Red as part of measures to contain the spread of coronavirus, the health ministry said on Monday.

Moreover, Bosnia and Herzegovina have been upgraded to Orange from Red.

The changes come into force on Thursday.

The Green category is made up of: EU: Austria, Bulgaria, Germany, Italy, Croatia, Latvia, Lithuania, Hungary, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden and Czechia; small states: Monaco, Vatican City; Schengen: Iceland, Norway and third countries: Australia, North Macedonia, Jordan, Canada, New Zealand, Serbia and Singapore.

The Orange category is made up of: EU: Belgium, France, Greece, Estonia, Finland; Schengen: Switzerland, Liechtenstein; third countries: Azerbaijan, Bosnia-Herzegovina, USA, Japan, Israel, Qatar, China, Bahrain, Lebanon and Saudi Arabia.

The Red category is made up of: EU: Denmark, Ireland, Spain, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands and Portugal; Small states: Andorra and San Marino; third countries: Egypt, Albania, Armenia, Georgia, UAE, UK, Kuwait, Belarus, Montenegro, Moldavia, Brunei, South Korea, Ukraine and Russia.

The classification for the countries of the European Union and the European Economic Area (Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway) including Switzerland is based on that of the European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC).

Passengers coming from green countries need not present a test nor self-isolate, while those coming from orange category countries are required to have a negative PCR laboratory test within 72 hours before departure.

Passengers coming from the red countries require a test within 72 hours before departure and one upon arrival in the Republic, cost to be covered by them.

Countries not listed in the green, orange and red categories are considered to be in the grey category where special permission to enter Cyprus is needed.

Entry is only allowed to: Cypriot citizens and members of their families (their foreign spouses and their minor children), European citizens, citizens of the European Economic Area (Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway) and Switzerland, legal persons residing in the Republic and persons entitled to enter the Republic in accordance with the Vienna Convention.

Also allowed are third-country nationals entitled to enter the Republic of Cyprus after special permission is granted.

Passengers coming from grey countries who have special permission to enter must have undergone a laboratory test by a recognised laboratory no older than 72 hours. They must self-isolate for 14 days or can take another PCR test after 7 days at their own expense.

Vaccinated arrivals are exempted from the requirement for tests and/or self-isolation. They must have a valid vaccination certificate from an EU or EEA state, or Switzerland, Israel, UK, Russia, UAE, Saudi Arabia, Ukraine, Jordan, Lebanon, Egypt, Belarus, Serbia, Qatar, Bahrain, USA, Armenia, Georgia, Canada, Kuwait and China and have been vaccinated by EMA approved vaccines or Sputnik, Sinopharm and Sinovac and have completed their vaccination.

For more information, including rules concerning vaccinated passengers and




Follow the Cyprus Mail on Google News

Related Posts

Israeli media: US missiles transited Cyprus en route to Israel

Elias Hazou

Parliament opens lactation room for working mothers

Staff Reporter

Cyprus denies allegations of migrant pushbacks

Nikolaos Prakas

House of Representatives honours Armenian genocide victims

Staff Reporter

Audit office flags diplomatic stipend issues

Nikolaos Prakas

National guard chief: Auditor’s report risks military secrets

Elias Hazou