Cyprus Mail

Coronavirus: Countries downgraded amid worsening epidemiological conditions

file photo: italy allows travellers from britain, the eu and israel to enter without needing to quarantine
REUTERS/Remo Casilli/File Photo

The health ministry on Monday issued new country guidelines for travel, downgrading Sweden and Belgium from Orange to Red, among others, and Austria, Bulgaria, Slovenia, and Norway from Green to Orange. The changes come into effect from Thursday.

According to the ministry, the following countries have moved from the Green Category to Orange: Austria, Bulgaria, Slovenia, Norway, Liechtenstein, Latvia, North Macedonia, and Canada.

Croatia has been upgraded from Orange to Green.

The following countries have been downgraded from Orange to Red: Lithuania, Sweden, Belgium, and Serbia.

The classification for the countries of the European Union and the European Economic Area (Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway) including Switzerland are in the Green, Orange or Red categories is based on that of the European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control.

Passengers coming from Green countries need not present a test nor self-isolate.

Passengers coming from Orange category countries are required to have a negative PCR laboratory test within 72 hours before departure

Passengers coming from the Red countries require: a) a laboratory tests within 72 hours before departure and b) carry out a laboratory test upon arrival in the Republic, cost to be covered by them.

For more information



Follow the Cyprus Mail on Google News

Related Posts

Why can’t Cyprus love these dogs?         

Alix Norman

Cyprus tourism will benefit from sustainable practices, minister says

Kyriacos Nicolaou

Cyprus Business Now

Kyriacos Nicolaou

Cyprus inflation slows down to 1.7 per cent in November

Kyriacos Nicolaou

President aims to make agriculture produce five per cent of GDP

Tom Cleaver

All school buses back to normal at the beginning of the week

Nikolaos Prakas