Ministers and Disy leadership on Monday refuted statements by presidential candidate Nikos Christodoulides who suggested he is in consultation with members of the democratic rally to be part of his government if elected.

In a joint statement issued by Averof Neophytou’s campaign team, current ministers and members of the ruling party reiterated their support to the candidacy of Disy’s leader calling on everyone to vote for him as to not jeopardise the achievements of the past years.

The statement came as a clarification after former Disy member Nikos Christodoulides said in an interview to Active that Disy will certainly be part of the government he will form, adding members of the current government might also be included.

“We will never have to enter into such a dilemma,” the statement said, indicating that Averof will be elected. Members and supporters of Disy, as well as citizens “will properly evaluate the options and give their answer at the ballot box”.

As members of the government and the party, “we refute the allegations of Mr Christodoulides,” the statement said. They also declared “for the umpteenth time” the support for Averof who, they said, was elected as a candidate by the party following open and democratic procedures.

Christodoulides’ tacticts “are not consistent with a modern political ethics and constitute an insult to each and every one of us individually,” the statement said.

It added that the former foreign minister is only right about one thing; that Disy must be in government. This will be ensured by the election of Averof. “Only in such a government could we have participation,” the joint statement noted.

Ministers and party members highlighted that the progress of Nicos Anastasiades’ administration must be continued to face the challenges ahead without populism and capable leadership.

The statement was signed by Foreign Minister Ioannis Kasoulides, Finance Minister Constantinos Petrides, Interior Minister Nicos Nouris, Defence minister Charalambos Petrides, Education Minister Prodromos Prodromou, Transport Minister Yiannis Karousos, Energy Minister Natasa Pilidou, Labour Minister Kyriacos Koushos, Justice Minister Stephie Dracou, Health Minister Michalis Hadjipantela, Deputy Minister of Shipping Vassilis Dimitriades, Tourism Deputy Minister Savvas Perdios, Deputy Minister for Research, Innovation and Digital Policy Kyriakos Kokkinos and Culture Deputy Minister Yiannis Toumazis. Government Spokesman Marios Pelekanos, Deputy Government Spokeswoman Niovi Parissinou and State Secretary to the President Petros Demetriou also signed the statement alongside members of Disy leadership and Disy MPs.