Cyprus Mail

Anastasiades lauds ‘green capital’ awards

cache 500x500 4449707 847287 24012023093738

Aglandjia municipality and the Ayios Theodoros Pitsilias community were crowned the ‘green capitals’ of Cyprus on Tuesday.

Attending the ceremony President Nicos Anastasiades said the government’s policy already focuses on biodiversity and green energy, whilst promoting green economy.

“I’m not saying we achieved our goal but there has been significant improvement and we keep moving forward.”

A green flag was awarded to the municipalities of Limassol, Ypsonas, Aglandjia, Athienou, Engomi, Latsia, Derynia, Strovolos, Livadia, Lakatamia, Ayia Napa, Larnaca and the communities in Ayios Theodoros, Ayios Theodoros Pitsillias, Pissouri and Louvara.

Denia community received an ‘honourable distinction’ for its overall environmental action.

The awards were organised by Cyprus’ center for environmental research and education with the support of the environment commissioner.

Related Posts

North murder suspect remanded for another seven days

Nikolaos Prakas

Anastasiades honours Holocaust victims

Nikolaos Prakas

Cyprus delivers demarche to Unficyp chief

Nikolaos Prakas

Deputy shipping minister heads to Saudi Arabia

Andria Kades

Union reps accuse Anastasiades of sexist, offensive comments

Andria Kades

Larnaca-based WHO office agreed

Jonathan Shkurko