Cyprus is one of 14 EU member states to sign a joint declaration in light of the international day against homophobia and transphobia that was marked on Monday.

According to an official announcement issued on Tuesday, the declaration was signed by Justice Minister Emily Yiolitis.

A French initiative, the joint declaration stresses the need for the EU to remain respectful of human rights, freedom and security for the LGBTI community.

Members of the LGBTI community face a spectrum of discrimination and violence in all aspects of life, including stigma and hate rhetoric, particularly on social media, the statement reads, adding that these practices which incur risks of violence, isolation and marginalisation, run counter to the EU’s core values.

The 14 member states reaffirmed that everyone living in the EU should have the right to live in freedom and security, enjoying their human rights and liberties.

The statement concludes that any violations to LGBTI rights should not be tolerated and should be dealt with decisively.

The declaration was co-signed by France, Belgium, Denmark, Cyprus, Estonia, Finland, Germany, the Netherlands, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Malta, Spain and Sweden.