Cyprus Mail
Sport Tennis

ITF approves Cyprus’ request to host Davis Cup group

cyprus davis cup

The International Tennis Federation (ITF) has approved Cyprus Tennis Federation’s request to host the
Davis Cup Europe Group III.

This year Cyprus will host the Davis Cup at the Herodotou Tennis Academy which is based in Meneou,
Cyprus (Agias Marinas Street, 7000) and it will take place between the 14th and 20th of June inclusive.

The other seven competing nations include: Georgia, Ireland, Iceland, Luxembourg, Malta, and
Monaco. Lichtenstein has withdrawn from the competition earlier this week.

The abovementioned competing nations will be divided into two groups. The top seeded country of
each group, and the winner of the match between the runner-up countries of each group will win the
golden ticket for the World Group II play-offs in 2022. The teams finishing in third place will play-off to
avoid relegation. The team finishing in fourth place in Pool A will be relegated.

The Cypriot Davis Cup team players are: Petros Chrysochos, Melios Efstathiou, Sergios Kyratzis and
Eleftherios Neos. Demetris Herodotou will be the captain of the team.

Related Posts

Tuchel lauds Loftus-Cheek as midfielder delivers on his potential

Press Association

Conte enjoying PL return despite Tottenham struggles

Press Association

Jota double sets up Liverpool rout of Southampton

Reuters News Service

Arsenal stroll past rock-bottom Newcastle

Reuters News Service

Italy finance police search Juventus offices in player trading probe

Reuters News Service

Italy and Portugal on collision course in World Cup playoffs

Reuters News Service