Cyprus Mail
SportTennisUS Open

Serena’s farewell tour gets top billing on first day of US Open

us open grand slam 2022
Serena Williams in action during a practice session before the start of the US Open in New York

Serena Williams will kick off what is likely to be the last event of her farewell tour on Monday at the U.S. Open where she will headline opening night in a first-round clash with Montenegro’s Danka Kovinic.

Williams, who three weeks ago announced her forthcoming retirement from tennis, will play the 7 p.m. ET (2300 GMT) match in front of more than 23,000 hollering fans on Arthur Ashe Stadium, where she has won six of her 23 Grand Slam titles.

While far from the form she enjoyed at the height of her illustrious career, the 40-year-old Williams will look to overwhelm Kovinic in their first career match-up with her trademark mix of powerful serves and groundstrokes.

For Williams, who missed last year’s U.S. Open with a leg injury and only returned to singles action at Wimbledon in June, emotions will be running high at the final Grand Slam of 2022.

“I definitely will be very emotional,” Williams, who is also playing in the doubles competition with older sister Venus, said on the debut episode of Meghan Markle’s ‘Archetypes’ podcast that was released last week. “How am I not gonna cry?

“Maybe if I hopefully can get through a couple of matches, then maybe I’ll feel better but I think initially it’s going to be hard because every time I step out there, it’s literally my last time.”

While facing Williams in the first round of a Grand Slam may once have been one of the more daunting tasks in tennis, Kovinic may like her chances given the recent form of her opponent.

Since announcing her pending retirement, Williams has lost every match she has played, the first in straight sets to Belinda Bencic at Toronto and then at Cincinnati where she was trounced 6-4 6-0 by U.S. Open champion Emma Raducanu.

Kovinic, 27, has lost her last five matches but the aggressive baseliner will take plenty of confidence into her showdown with Williams given she has enjoyed her best career results in the two Grand Slam events she played this year.

The Montenegrin advanced to the third round at both the Australian Open, where she beat Britain’s Raducanu in the second round, and French Open where she delivered a valiant performance in a losing effort against world number one Iga Swiatek.

Currently at 80th in the rankings, Kovinic reached a career-best of No. 46 six years ago and is making her fifth main draw appearance at a U.S. Open where she reached the second round in 2015 and 2020.

Order of play on the main show courts on the first day of the U.S. Open on Monday (play starts at 1500 GMT/11 AM ET unless stated, prefix number denotes seeding):

ARTHUR ASHE STADIUM (1600 GMT/12 PM ET)

1-Daniil Medvedev v Stefan Kozlov (United States)

Leolia Jeanjean (France) v 12-Coco Gauff (United States)

Danka Kovinic (Montenegro) v Serena Williams (United States)

23-Nick Kyrgios (Australia) v Thanasi Kokkinakis (Australia)

LOUIS ARMSTRONG STADIUM

24-Francisco Cerundolo (Argentina) v Andy Murray (Britain)

7-Simona Halep (Romania) v Daria Snigur (Ukraine)

20-Madison Keys (United States) v Dayana Yastremska (Ukraine)

4-Stefanos Tsitsipas (Greece) v Daniel Elahi Galan (Colombia)

14-Leylah Fernandez (Canada) v Oceane Dodin (France)

Related Posts

Kane a doubt for Tottenham in FA Cup

Reuters News Service

Djokovic shrugs off dad drama to reach Australian Open final

Reuters News Service

Cyprus star Baghdatis was a role mode, says Tsitsipas

Jonathan Shkurko

Djokovic’s father won’t attend semi-final after Russia flag controversy

Reuters News Service

Title race won’t affect my friendship with Guardiola, says Arteta

Reuters News Service

Tsitsipas beats gutsy Khachanov to reach first Australian Open final

Reuters News Service