The house plenum ratified on Thursday the framework agreement for the accession of Cyprus to the International Solar Alliance.

Forty-one MPs voted in favour, while four MPs voted against, and one abstained.

The International Solar Alliance’s main priority is to promote the exploitation of solar energy through collective action to address common challenges and the development of competitive projects in the field of solar energy.

Lawmakers in their statements debated on the project for a bi-communal solar park as a confidence building measure, for the benefit of both communities in Cyprus.