In this video, we head to Delhi – officially the National Capital Territory (NCT) of Delhi, a city and union territory of India that includes New Delhi, the country’s capital, and bordered by the states of Haryana and Uttar Pradesh.

Having been continuously inhabited since the 6th century BCE, Delhi is thought to consist of seven successive cities, with British-built New Delhi making an eighth.

Old Delhi is the city of the Mughals and dates back to the 17th century. It’s the capital’s most frenetic quarter, and its most Islamic. Among its greatest monuments are the mighty Red Fort and Jama Masjid, India’s largest and most impressive mosque.

To the south lies New Delhi, a spacious, modern city of tree-lined boulevards, impressive in its own right. The Rajpath, stretching from India Gate to the Presidential Palace, exudes power, while the broad avenues are lined with museums and a buzzing commercial scene, centred around Connaught Place. At opposite ends of Lodhi Road, meanwhile, lie the Mughal garden mausoleums of Humayun’s Tomb and Safdarjang’s Tomb.

As for South Delhi, the vast area beyond the colonial city, here, among more modern developments, lie some of Delhi’s most ancient and fascinating attractions, most notably the Qutb Minar and the rambling ruins of Tughluqabad.

View the original video here.

Good Living is the Cyprus Mail’s portal of curated content from across the internet, showcasing local and global ideas, cultural highlights, and scientific and technological developments to inspire a sustainable life