Cyprus Mail

Coronavirus: Israel moved into orange as government recategorises countries

Larnaca airport. Photo: CNA

Israel was on Monday moved out of the red list of countries to the orange, which will be in effect as of Thursday.

Other changed to country categorisations were the move of Thailand and South Korea to the green category, and also the move of Denmark from the red to the orange category.

According to the list, only passengers arriving from Australia, New Zealand, Singapore, Saudi Arabia, South Korea and Thailand are in the Green category. This means passengers arriving from these countries do not have to present any Covid-19 lab test certificate or self-isolate upon arrival.

Portugal, Denmark, Iceland, China (including Macau and Hong Kong) and Israel are in the Orange category. Passengers from these countries must present a negative PCR test not older than 72 hours prior to their departure.

In the Red category are Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, France, Croatia, Luxembourg, Romania, Spain, Italy, Greece, Malta, The Netherlands, Hungary, Poland, Finland, Slovakia, Slovenia,  Czech Republic, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Sweden, Germany, Ireland, Andorra, Monaco, Vatican City, San Marino, Switzerland, Liechtenstein, Norway, United Kingdom, Rwanda,  Russia, United Arab Emirates, Ukraine, Jordan, Lebanon, Egypt, Belarus, Qatar, Serbia , United States of America, Armenia, Georgia and Bahrain.

Passengers arriving from Red category countries must present a negative PCR test not older than 72 hours and take another test upon arrival in Cyprus. They must remain in self-isolation until their test results are ready. The test costs are borne by the passengers.

Countries not included in these lists are classed as Grey category and special permission must be granted to people wishing to travel to Cyprus from there.

The government only grants special permission to Cypriot citizens, their spouses and underage children, EU citizens, EEA citizens (Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway) and those of Switzerland, permanent residents in Cyprus, and people allowed to enter the Republic according to the Vienna Convention. Some categories of third-country nationals are also allowed to travel to Cyprus from Grey category countries on special permission.

All passengers, regardless of country category, are obliged to submit an application for the CyprusFlightPass within 24 hours prior to their departure flight. Moreover, sample molecular laboratory testing of passengers on selected arriving flights will be carried out.

Related Posts

Cyprus needs immediate action to combat the climate crisis

CM Guest Columnist

Our View: Latest Covid measures are nonsense, for different reasons

CM: Our View

Lack of interest in EastMed pipeline ‘worrying’

Elias Hazou

Finland, Sweden back on path to NATO membership as Turkey drops veto

Reuters News Service

Petrol stations association in the north threatens to close its pumps

Sarah Ktisti

Meeting Friday to look at ways to reduce electricity bills

Elias Hazou