Cyprus Mail
Cyprus Featured

Coronavirus: Changes to country catergorisations

File photo: Larnaca airport

Only one country, Liechtenstein, was promoted to the Green category for travel, while several others have been demoted according to the latest epidemiological risk assessment to be in effect from Thursday.

According to the health ministry, Liechtenstein has been put in the Green category, a step up from the Orange.

Iceland was demoted from Green to Red while Italy and Lithuania that were both in the Green were put in the Orange one.

Luxembourg steps up from Red to Orange.

Azerbaijan, France, Switzerland, Japan and the US have been put from the Orange to the Red.

In the Green category are Austria, Bulgaria, Germany, Croatia, Latvia, Hungary, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden, the Czech Republic, Liechtenstein, Norway, Australia, Northern Macedonia, Jordan, Canada, New Zealand, Serbia and Singapore.

Belgium, Estonia, Italy, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Finland, Greece, the Vatican City, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Israel, Qatar, China (including Hong Kong, Macau and Taiwan), Bahrain, Lebanon, and Saudi Arabia are in the Orange category.

France, Denmark, Ireland, Spain, Malta, Netherlands, Portugal, Andorra, Monaco, San Marino, Switzerland, Iceland, Azerbaijan, Egypt, Albania, Armenia, Georgia, Greece, the United Arab Emirates, US, UK, Japan, Kuwait, Belarus, Montenegro, Moldova, Brunei, South Korea, Ukraine, and Russia are in the Red category.

Passengers coming from green category countries need not present a test nor self-isolate, while those coming from orange category countries are required to have a negative PCR laboratory test within 72 hours before departure.

Passengers coming from the red countries require a test within 72 hours before departure and one upon arrival in the Republic, cost to be covered by them.

Countries not listed in the green, orange and red categories are considered to be in the grey category where special permission to enter Cyprus is needed.

Entry is only allowed to: Cypriot citizens and members of their families (their foreign spouses and their minor children), European citizens, citizens of the European Economic Area (Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway) and Switzerland, legal persons residing in the Republic and persons entitled to enter the Republic in accordance with the Vienna Convention.

Also allowed are third-country nationals entitled to enter the Republic of Cyprus after special permission is granted.

Vaccinated arrivals are exempted from the requirement for tests and/or self-isolation. They must have a valid vaccination certificate from an EU or EEA state, or Switzerland, Israel, UK, Russia, UAE, Saudi Arabia, Ukraine, Jordan, Lebanon, Egypt, Belarus, Serbia, Qatar, Bahrain, USA, Armenia, Georgia, Canada, Kuwait and China and have been vaccinated by EMA approved vaccines or Sputnik, Sinopharm and Sinovac and have completed their vaccination.

For more information, including rules concerning vaccinated passengers and

All passengers arriving to Cyprus must apply to the CyprusFlightPass within 48 prior departure.





Related Posts

Coronavirus:  SafePass tweak to stop quarantine busters

Antigoni Pitta

Local violin maker tunes into tradition

Paul Lambis

Police probe break-in at Larnaca vaccination centre

Antigoni Pitta

Water Department ‘cannot reconnect’ supply to Chlorakas complex

Gina Agapiou

Household consumption spending down 14.1 per cent

Anna Savva

Ministry seeking two doctors for Pournara

Antigoni Pitta