Cyprus Mail

Coronavirus: Malta back in red category

passengers travel through logan airport in boston

Malta is back in the red category as per the latest review of the epidemiological assessment of countries for travel.

This was the only change to the list which is to be in effect from Thursday. Malta was in the orange but as of Thursday it will be in the red one.

The United Arab Emirates, Indonesia, Kuwait, Bahrain and Saudi Arabia are in the Green category.

Passengers from green category countries are not required to provide a negative PCR test prior to departure.

The Orange category consists of Greece, Argentina, Australia, Japan, Israel, Canada, Qatar, China (including Hong Kong and Macau), Colombia, New Zealand, Uruguay, Rwanda, and Chile.

All passengers arriving from these countries are required to present a negative PCR test not older 72 hours prior to departure.

Most countries remain in the Red category: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, France, Germany, Denmark, Estonia, Ireland, Spain, Italy, Croatia, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Hungary, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovenia, Romania, Slovenia Andorra, Monaco, Vatican City State, San Marino, Switzerland, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, Egypt, Armenia, Georgia, USA, United Kingdom, Jordan, Belarus, Lebanon, South Korea, Oman, Ukraine, Peru, Russia, and Serbia.

All arrivals from these countries are required to present a negative PCR test not older than 72 hours prior to departure and get another PCR test upon arrival. The cost of the test is paid by the passengers. People need to self-isolate until the results are issued.

Vaccinated passengers or people who have recovered from Covid-19 not more than six months since their travel date, are exempted from presenting a PCR test upon or self-isolating. They need to present the EU Digital COVID certificate or the EU Digital COVID Recovery certificate.

The health ministry, however, recalls that, as per a cabinet decision last week on the emergence of the Omicron variant, in addition to the measures already applied, all persons entering the Republic of Cyprus by air, regardless of their country of arrival and whether they are vaccinated or have a Covid-19 recovery certificate must undergo a PCR test upon arrival. The cost will be paid by the passengers. This measure will apply until January 10.

It is also recalled that there is a ban on arrivals of any passenger who, during the last 14 days before their arrival in the Republic either resided or passed through the territory of          South Africa, Lesotho, Kingdom of Eswatini, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Malawi and Botswana.

All passengers need to fill out the CyprusFlightPass within 48 hours before the departure of their flight.

Follow the Cyprus Mail on Google News

Related Posts

Ten migrant boats arrive over three days

Jonathan Shkurko

House president, minister lock horns over double pensions

Elias Hazou

Fibre optic cables ‘will not impact environment’

Jonathan Shkurko

Man dies after plunging down ravine

Jonathan Shkurko

‘A precise translation of European values’

Andria Kades

Tatar says will not be forced to accept UNSG proposals

Antigoni Pitta