Cyprus Mail

Coronavirus: Three countries reclassified

The health ministry has reclassified three countries on its list of colour-coded destinations for Covid-19.

The changes, which take effect from Thursday December 30 included moving New Zealand from orange to green, moving the UAE from green to orange, and Canada from orange to red.

Green countries are classed as low risk, orange low risk but in more doubt than green, while red countries are considered high risk.

The list of countries and their categories is fluid and can change at any time depending on their epidemiological situation.

“To this end, new data will be announced and the list of countries will be updated frequently,” the ministry said.

In view of the new Omicron variant, the ministry reminded the public that all persons entering the Republic, by air, regardless of their country of origin and whether or not they hold a valid certificate of complete vaccination or a valid certificate of recovery from Covid-19 or a negative laboratory test on departure, from December 6, 2021 until midnight on January 10 they must do a PCR test on arrival, which they must pay for.

Entry is prohibited of any person who during the last 14 days before his arrival in the Republic either resided in or passed through South Africa, Namibia, Lesotho, the Kingdom of Eswatini, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Malawi or Botswana.

Country categories are listed here:

Related Posts

Transport ministry has budget of over €400m next year

Nikolaos Prakas

Part of Karpasia to be turned into Turkish Naval Base

Nikolaos Prakas

Christodoulides keeps mum over secret deal with Diko

Elias Hazou

A concert in total darkness

Eleni Philippou

Digitisation and green: budget for schools

Andria Kades

Cypriots are ‘proud’ contributors to volunteerism

Gina Agapiou