Cyprus Mail

Coronavirus: Israel back in Orange in new country categories

file photo: passengers wearing protective face masks arrive at son sant joan airport in palma de mallorca

The government announced changes in the country rankings for travellers on Monday, downgrading Malta from Green to Orange and Andorra from Orange to Red, and upgrading Israel from Red to Orange.

In a statement the health ministry added that the European Commission’s list of third countries from which non-essential trips to the EU are permitted has been amended to include Argentina, Colombia and Namibia, all classified as Orange, and Peru, which was classified as Red.

The changes will come into effect on Thursday November 18.

The Green category is made up of the United Arab Emirates, Kuwait, Bahrain and Saudi Arabia.

The Orange category includes France, Greece, Spain, Italy, Malta, Portugal, Monaco, Vatican City, Argentina, Australia, Japan, Israel, Canada, Qatar, China (incl. Hong Kong and Macau), Colombia, Namibia, New Zealand, South Korea, Uruguay, Rwanda, and Chile.

The Red category includes Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Germany, Denmark, Estonia, Ireland, Croatia, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Hungary, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden, Czechia, Finland, Andorra, San Marino, Switzerland, Iceland, Lichtenstein, Norway, Egypt, Armenia, Georgia, USA, UK, Jordan, Belarus, Lebanon, Oman, Ukraine, Peru, Russia, and Serbia.

Countries not listed in the Green, Orange, and Red categories are considered to be in the grey category where special permission to enter Cyprus is needed.

Passengers coming from Green countries need not present a test nor self-isolate, while those coming from Orange category countries are required to have a negative PCR laboratory test within 72 hours before departure.

Passengers coming from Red countries require a test within 72 hours before departure and one upon arrival in the Republic, cost to be covered by them.

Vaccinated arrivals are exempt from the requirement for tests and/or self-isolation. They must have a valid vaccination certificate from an EU or EEA state, or Switzerland, Israel, UK, Russia, UAE, Saudi Arabia, Ukraine, Jordan, Lebanon, Egypt, Belarus, Serbia, Qatar, Bahrain, USA, Armenia, Georgia, Canada, Kuwait, China and Oman and have been vaccinated by EMA approved vaccines or Sputnik, Sinopharm and Sinovac and have completed their vaccination.

For more information, including rules concerning vaccinated passengers and

Follow the Cyprus Mail on Google News

Related Posts

Ten migrant boats arrive over three days

Jonathan Shkurko

House president, minister lock horns over double pensions

Elias Hazou

Fibre optic cables ‘will not impact environment’

Jonathan Shkurko

Man dies after plunging down ravine

Jonathan Shkurko

‘A precise translation of European values’

Andria Kades

Tatar says will not be forced to accept UNSG proposals

Antigoni Pitta