Cyprus Mail

DISY announces its MEP candidates

Government spokesman Christos Stylianides eyes Brussels posting

RULING DISY yesterday announced its candidates for the six spots on the party’s ballot for the coming European Parliament elections. MEPs Andreas Pitsillides and Eleni Theocharous, who had previously expressed interest in seeking re-election, are joined by party MPs Sotiris Sampson and Lefteris Christoforou. Christos Stylianides, the government spokesman, surprised everyone when he announced that he would also be seeking a spot on the party’s ballot.

Speaking to the press, Stylianides said that he was “eager to serve in a European post”. He did not rule out the possibility of taking the post of the European Commissioner from Cyprus, after Androulla Vassiliou steps down on October.

The party hopefuls won’t be competing for all six spots, as three of them are already taken. A spot was given to EVROKO leader Demetris Syllouris and the other to Rena Choplarou, an activist who is one of the leaders of the “We are staying in the EU” initiative.

The third spot will be given to some proposed by the party leader Averof Neophytou.

DISY’s political bureau will convene on March 15 to finalise the list and on March 22 the party’s supreme council will validate it.

Related Posts

Share of training enterprises in Cyprus and EU decreased in 2020

No question over support to Ukraine, Tamasos bishop says

Andria Kades

House president chides minister over sex education interference

Andria Kades

New art exhibitions nationwide

Eleni Philippou

Education ministry accused of excluding children with disabilities

Antigoni Pitta

Asil Nadir sells Kibris to Erdogan linked company

Nikolaos Prakas