Cyprus Mail

APOEL face Olympiacos in Europa League

Cyprus champions APOEL on Friday learned their Europa League opponents

Cyprus champions APOEL have been drawn against Olympiacos of Greece, Swiss side Young Boys and Kazakhstan’s Astana in Group B of this season’s Europa League, following the draw in Monaco on Friday afternoon.

The Nicosia giants were eliminated from the Champions League in the playoff round on Wednesday night by Danish side FC Copenhagen.

APOEL were also in last season’s Europa League group stage, winning one and losing five of their six matches.

Manchester United meanwhile will come up against their former striker Robin van Persie after being drawn in a tough Europa League group alongside Fenerbahce, Feyenoord and Zorya Luhansk.

Three-time European champions United must negotiate a competitive group if they are to win one of the few titles that has eluded them.

The Premier League side will face 19-time Turkish champions Fenerbahce, who missed out on the Champions League group stage after a 4-3 aggregate defeat by AS Monaco in the third qualifying round.

They are managed by former Netherlands coach Dick Advocaat and include ex-United forward Van Persie who began his career with Feyenoord.

The Dutch Cup holders finished third in the Eredivisie last season. Zorya qualified as Ukraine’s fourth-placed team.

Southampton, the Premier League’s other representatives, have been drawn alongside Inter Milan, Sparta Prague and Hapoel Be’er Sheva.

Villarreal, beaten semi-finalists last season, meet former European champions Steaua Bucharest, FC Zurich and Osmanlispor.

Group-stage first-timers Dundalk of Ireland meet AZ Alkmaar, Maccabi Tel Aviv and Zenit St. Petersburg, who reached the Champions League round of 16 last season.

The top two teams from each of the 12 groups advance to the round of 32 where they will be joined by the eight third-placed teams from the Champions League group stage.

The final will be played in Stockholm on May 24.

Group A
Man United (ENG)
Fenerbahçe (TUR)
Feyenoord (NED)
Zorya (UKR)

Group B
Olympiacos (GRE)
Young Boys (SUI)
Astana (KAZ)

Group C
Anderlecht (BEL)
St-Étienne (FRA)
Mainz (GER)
Qäbälä (AZE)

Group D
Zenit (RUS)
M. Tel-Aviv (ISR)
Dundalk (IRL)

Group E
Plzeň (CZE)
Roma (ITA)
Austria Wien (AUT)
Astra (ROU)

Group F
Athletic (ESP)
Genk (BEL)
Rapid Wien (AUT)
Sassuolo (ITA)

Group G
Ajax (NED)
Standard Liège (BEL)
Celta (ESP)
Panathinaikos (GRE)

Group H
Shakhtar Donetsk (UKR)
Braga (POR)
Gent (BEL)
Konyaspor (TUR)

Group I
Schalke (GER)
Salzburg (AUT)
Krasnodar (RUS)
Nice (FRA)

Group J
Fiorentina (ITA)
Liberec (CZE)
Qarabağ (AZE)

Group K
Internazionale (ITA)
Sparta Praha (CZE)
Southampton (ENG)
H. Beer-Sheva (ISR)

Group L
Villarreal (ESP)
Steaua (ROU)
Zürich (SUI)
Osmanlıspor (TUR)

Related posts

Wales on top of rugby world rankings after beating England

Press Association

Two out of two for Arsenal as Aubameyang sinks stubborn Burnley

Reuters News Service

All Blacks thrash Australia 36-0 to retain Bledisloe Cup

Reuters News Service

‘Ozil and Kolasinac good options for us,’ says Arsenal boss Emery

Reuters News Service

Barca beaten in Bilbao by thunderous strike from Aduriz

Reuters News Service

Pochettino unsure whether Eriksen will remain at Spurs

Reuters News Service