Cyprus Mail
Sport Tennis

Baghdatis breaks Borg’s Davis Cup record win streak

MARCOS Baghdatis has broken Bjorn Borg’s record of consecutive victories in the Davis Cup following the Cypriot’s 6-2, 6-0 win over Andorra’s Jean-Baptiste Poux-Gautier on Thursday.

The win was Baghdatis’ 34th in a row in the competition, surpassing legendary Swede Borg, who managed 33 straight victories between 1973 and 1980.

Cyprus won the European Group III tie 3-0, with Petros Chrysochos also winning his singles match and Soteris Hadjistyllis and Constantinos Chrystoforou claiming victory in the doubles.

“We are extremely proud that Marcos has beaten this long-standing record,” Philios Christodoulou, the President of the Cyprus Tennis Federation, told the Cyprus Mail. “It is an amazing achievement.”

Baghdatis is the longest-serving player in Cyprus’ history in the Davis Cup, with this year being his 16th campaign representing the island.

He has an overall record of 67 wins and 13 losses.

Cyprus know that a win against Montenegro on Friday will see the island promoted to Group II.
Fifteen countries are currently in Estonia for a round-robin tournament which will determine the promoted countries.

Despite the disappointment of losing out to Stan Wawrinka in the final of the Dubai Duty Free Tennis Championships last Saturday, Baghdatis’ latest feat marks an excellent start to 2016.

His exploits in Dubai, including surprise wins over fourth seed Roberto Bautista Agut and then Feliciano Lopez in the semi-finals, sees Baghdatis rise to 39th place in the ATP World Rankings. It is the first time that the Cypriot has been in the Top 40 since May 2013.

Related Posts

Inspired Shapovalov overpowers listless Zverev

Reuters News Service

Kyrgios circus rolls on in Australian Open doubles

Reuters News Service

Barty fends off Anisimova to reach Australian Open quarter-finals

Reuters News Service

Last-minute Rashford goal helps Man Utd beat West Ham

Reuters News Service

Villa win at struggling Everton as objects rain down from the stands

Reuters News Service

China’s Beijing to maintain Covid emergency status as Winter Olympics loom

Reuters News Service


Comments are closed.