Cyprus Mail

Cyprus projects up for architecture prize

The Radisson Blu in Larnaca

Eight projects in Cyprus including public and private buildings have been chosen among the nominees for the European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture – Mies van der Rohe Award 2019, it was announced on Tuesday.

The award is a prize given biennially by the European Union and the Fundació Mies van der Rohe, Barcelona, to acknowledge and reward quality architectural production in Europe.

For the 2019 awards there are 383 nominees from 238 cities in 38 countries. Those from Cyprus are the Radisson Blu hotel in Larnaca, the University of Nicosia Six Towers Student Residences, the 3CX office building and Smalto dental clinic in Nicosia. Among the nominees are also the connection and amelioration of the 28th October, K. Palama and D. Solomou Squares in Paphos, the Mouttalos district redevelopment and the Markideio municipal theatre in the same district and the Laniteio secondary school extension in Limassol.

The projects have been nominated by 76 independent experts, national architecture associations and the Prize Advisory Committee.

“The 383 works draw the present picture of contemporary architecture in Europe,” a press release said.

“After the challenges of Housing and Heritage in Europe highlighted by the 2017 Jury and Winners and the exciting debates that have taken place during these two years, the new cycle of the European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture – Mies van der Rohe Award will reflect on the next challenges of architecture, which architects, clients, policy makers and other professionals are faced with.”

Laniteio Lyceum by Armeftis & Associates is the southernmost work to participate in the architecture competition, the press release said, with the Skreda Roadside Rest Area (Norway) by Manthey Kula Arkitekter, being the northernmost work.

In January 2019, the Jury will shortlist 40 projects and five of them will be visited in April. The 40 shortlisted works will be announced on January 16 and the five finalists on February 13.
The winners will be announced in mid-April.

To view the Cypriot nominees, visit:


Related Posts

Cypriot mountaineering team conquers Mount Aconcagua

Jonathan Shkurko

Minister proposes health cards for student athletes

Jonathan Shkurko

Candidates make final appeal to voters

Antigoni Pitta

Briton who killed wife ‘was in no state to give statement’

Andria Kades

Anastasiades quizzed on hot button topics in CyBC interview

Iole Damaskinos

Statue worth €10,000 was sold as scrap for €85

Jean Christou